Sunday, November 3, 2013

Google Chrome panic button resets the settings

Since Google Chrome 30, a panic button now exists which users can use to reset the browser settings. Its primary use is to restore the functionality of the browser if addons, extensions or toolbars have hijacked the browser and modified the settings without user control.

how to chrome hack fix reset restore
Extensions, themes, toolsbars and addons are indispensable for many users who may have several active at the same time. Unfortunately, not all extensions are safe and while some may cause troubles as an indirect effect of being poorly written, others could actually purposely trick users into installing them to hijack the browser for their own gain, such as user-data collection or directing users to alternate websites and search engines. 

In order to make it easier for the users to restore functionalities to a web browser that is mis-behaving as a consequence of modified settings under questionable conditions, Google has introduced a panic button in Google Chrome 30. The settings is formally known as Reset browser settings and can be accessed by:
  1. Click Chrome menu on the browser toolbar.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Show advanced settings.
  4. Click Reset browser settings.
The new Reset browser settings button will in turn have the following effects on the Google Chrome browser:
  • Default search engine will be restored.
  • Homepage button will be removed (default for Chrome) as well as the website it is associated with.
  • Automatically opened tabs when Chrome starts will be reset and the browser will start without opening any tabs.
  • New tabs will be empty.
  • Pinned tabs will be removed (unpinned).
  • Content settings will be restored to their default settings.
  • Cookies and site data saved by Chrome will be deleted.
  • All extensions and themes will be disabled but the users can easily enable those they trust afterwards.

No comments:

Post a Comment